A Decade in Music, Part 1: 2000 & 2001

As a huge music fan, I feel it’s my obligation to share with people what music is out there besides the mainstream, and give my two cents worth on what rocked my boat over the past year. This year, as 2009 brings us to the close of a decade, I’ve decide to share my best of(s) and favorites from every year, starting with this installment from 2000 and 2001.
Some of it is electronic, some of it is underground indie and alternative, and some of it is pure pop. Sue me, I like what I like. The thing that holds all of these together is that they are solid and have held up over the years. So let us step into the way back machine and revisit the first two years of the 00’s, listed in alphabetical order:

The Top 5 discs from 2000
Madonna, Music
PJ Harvey, Stories from the City Stories from the Sea
Radiohead, Kid A
Underworld, Everything Everything (Live)
Yo La Tengo, And Then Nothing Turn Itself Inside Out

The Best Singles from 2000
Avalanches- Since I Left You
Barcelona- Haunted By The Ghost of Patty
Daft Punk- One More Time
Doves- Here It Comes
Gigi D’Agostino- I’ll Fly With You (L’Amour Toujours)
Lauryn Hill- That Thing You Do (Doo Wop)
Madonna- Don’t Tell Me
Moby w/ Gwen Stefani- South Side
Radiohead- Idioteque
Yo La Tengo- Cherry Chapstick

The 5 Best Discs of 2001
The Avalanches, Since I Left You
Basement Jaxx, Rooty
Daft Punk, Discovery
New Order, Get Ready
Radiohead, Amnesiac

The Best Singles from 2001

!!!- The Feel Good Hit of the Fall
Basement Jaxx- Romeo
Bjork- It’s Not Up To You

Ewan McGregor & Nicole Kidman- Come What May (from Moulin Rouge)
New Order- Slow Jam
Pink- Just Like a Pill
Radiohead- I Might Be Wrong
The Rapture- Out of the Races and Onto the Track
The Stokes- Hard to Explain
Sunscreem- Cover Me
The White Stripes- Fell in Love with a Girl

Part 2 will be coming soon. In the meantime, Happy Halloween!

Leave a comment